Film Education


My First Film Course

I knew my goal… I just had no idea how to get there…

I landed back in India on the fifth of January 2006 quitting my college and leaving my family back in USA at the age of 19. I just had one mission, that is to be a film maker. I met several esteem professionals who either guided me or just mocked my immaturity.

I was repeatedly told by my peers to take up a small course to know my strengths. My uncle told me about the FTII film appreciation course which happens every summer. Something or other would keep going wrong. Most of the times I couldn’t get off time from work to go ahead and do the course. I kept reading about short term courses in Mumbai as well, but none of them looked appealing to me. It often upset me that in the hunt for bread and butter, in the mess of trying to settle down, my passion was going far away from me. In 2009 I decided that no matter what, I am going to enroll in a film education course. Hence my hunt began to find a course that was right for me.

Mid march, a friend sent me an email about Oorvazi’s film education course. I glanced through the write up and was quite impressed with the educationist’s profile. Highlighting factors such as the weekend batch , the fees and the venue got me quite excited to give Oorvazi a call. After getting an understanding of the course inputs, I made up my mind to go ahead and take a chance.

From the first minute of the first day of class, I just knew that I had made the right choice.

Knowledge kept pouring in! Though I couldn’t stay back to watch all the films as I was quite tied up at the work front, but Oorvazi was kind enough to burn me a CD of Pather Panchali – the movie I was craving to watch. The group discussions, small activities, chance to voice out your own thoughts, conversations during the class, the comfort zone, the cinematic ambience was simply overwhelming.

I still don’t believe that I have taken a “class”, the Film appreciation course was a platform for me to know my strengths, work on my weakness, and get intense knowledge.

I cannot thank my friend enough for sending me the email. I didn’t realize that I was missing out on something this empowering for all this while.

I thank Oorvazi for all her guidance, for being so flexible, for being the perfect guide and for letting the students be their own teachers.

Catch Oorvazi’s next batch starting: 22nd of May!
– Hiral Bhatt

www.redtokree.com

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Hiral, amazing write-up. Wish you great luck with RedTokree!

Comment by Agastya Kapoor

Thanks a lot Agastya… 🙂 Hope you are doing well…

Comment by Hiral




Leave a Reply

